Our vision is that Rugby League is a sport for all played with passion across India.

Our Mission

RLIF mission is to:
– Develop Rugby League based on the founding ethos of equality.
– Operate with the highest standards of governance.
– Share the game far and wide

About RLIF

Rugby League India Federation is the governing body of Rugby League Sport in India. It was established in 2020 with a strong motive to foster, develop, promote, govern and administer the game of Rugby League in India.

History of Rugby League

The history of rugby league as a separate form of rugby football goes back to 1895 in Huddersfield, West Riding of Yorkshire when the Northern Rugby Football Union broke away from England’s established Rugby Football Union to administer its own separate competition. Similar schisms occurred later in Australia and New Zealand in 1907. Gradually the rugby played in these breakaway competitions evolved into a distinctly separate sport that took its name from the professional leagues that administered it. Rugby league in England went on to set attendance and player payment records and rugby league in Australia became the most watched sport on television. The game also developed a significant place in the culture of France, New Zealand and several other Pacific Island nations, such as Papua New Guinea, where it has become the national sport.

Rugby league is played in over 70 nations throughout the world. Seven countries – Australia, Canada, England, France, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Wales – have teams that play at a professional level, while the rest are semi-professional or amateur. 36 national teams are ranked by the RLIF and a further 32 are officially recognized and unranked. The first Rugby League World Cup was held in France in 1954; the current holders are Australia.